top of page

How Do You Use Glitter Dust ?


Glitter is an inexpensive, quick, and simple method to add sparkle, colour, and texture to your craft creations. When adding glitter to wood, you want to lock it in so it doesn't fall off, and you want a long-lasting adhesive. With your craft, you can use paint, glue, or a spray on adhesive, and then add glitter before the adhesive dries. With these ways, you may make your product as dazzling as you like.


You can apply glitter with a variety of different adhesive products. Glue, spray adhesive, paint, or decoupage can all be used. To apply the glitter, you can use a foam wedge or a cheap paintbrush.


Because Glitter Dust is notorious for generating a mess, you'll want to create an easy-to-clean glitter station. You should ideally work outside so you don't have to worry about wiping glitter off your carpet or furnishings. You'll need to choose the products for your glitter station based on your project. If you're working with larger pieces of wood, use a cardboard box. For simpler tasks, a paper plate can be used.


Because of the "bling" factor, glitter is always a great pastime with preschoolers. Glitter is sparkly and attractive, but it can be messy, and it doesn't have to be a big mess. There are several ways to make projects with glitter effects without finding glitter specks in your hair or the carpet months later.


The conventional glitter method involves squeezing glue from a glue bottle or applying it with a brush, then using little jars of glitter that are gently tapped to sprinkle on the paper. Many glitter jars now include a sprinkle cap, similar to a regular food spice bottle, however this can still be a messy alternative.


Many different types of decorative glitters and dusts are available on the Internet and in craft and bakery supply stores under the names lustre dust, disco dust, twinkle dust, sparkle dust, highlighter, shimmer powder, pearl dust, and petal dust. Several online instructional videos, blogs, and articles encourage the use of various glitters and dusts to design delicacies such as cakes, cupcakes, and cake pops. If a baker wishes to adorn a food item with non-edible decorations, the decorations must be removed before the meal is served and consumed.


I'm sure some individuals will be offended by this post. I'm not instructing you whether or not to use Disco Dust. That is all up to you. I've shifted all of my Disco Dust to my craft materials since I feel better about using it on crafts rather than eating. You can use this information, as well as other information from the web, to create your own plan. I'm only sharing my thoughts with you so you can decide whether to use DIY Sparkle Dust or Disco Dust on your baked goods.


You might be wondering why you'd want to produce your own DIY Sparkle Dust. I'm sure you've heard about the controversy surrounding the usage of Disco Dust on cookies and cakes. It all started when they initially began selling Disco Dust a few years ago. It was marketed as a non-toxic cake decoration. Then the debate began since "nontoxic" does not imply "edible."


During this period, I became acquainted with Disco Dust. It was a fantastic new substance to use on cookies, in my opinion. They placed it on cakes and ate it, so why should I be concerned about a little sparkle in my cookies?


I got a strange sensation about it somewhere in the back of my head. A small tap, tap, tap informed me something wasn't quite right. How can something so gleaming be edible? But for a while, I ignored the small voice in the back of my head. Because I was still intrigued, I went to a nearby cake decorating supplies store and asked the owner what he knew about it. He told me that he had a friend who worked in the "cake business" (someone who knows about such things), and that the FDA was very close to approving it for eating.


So, with all of that stated, I've chosen to abandon Disco Dust in favour of my DIY Sparkle Dust. I'd like to thank Avalon Cakes and Kara's Couture Cakes for sharing their Edible Gelatin Glitter or Edible Glitter with us as a safe substitute for Disco Dust. Both offer how-to videos, so you should definitely check them out. I'll be back tomorrow with my DIY Sparkle Dust Recipe and a cookie to share so you can see how it looks on royal icing for yourself. I followed their instructions but changed the amount of water and came up with something I'll use on my cookies from now on.


According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, decorating foods with lustre dust and related items is a current trend that has been pushed on television programmes, instructional videos, blogs, and magazine articles. Luster dusts that are safe for ingestion are often labelled "edible." Some lustre dusts used as cake decorations, however, are not edible or food grade. These are branded "non-toxic" or "just for decorative purposes." These lustre dusts are meant to be removed before use.


Glitter paper and glitter foam: If you still want to add glitter dazzle to your crafts without the mess of glue and pixie dust, consider glitter paper or glitter craft foam sheets. These are sheets of glittered paper or craft foam that you can cut and glue anywhere you want; they often come with an adhesive backing as well, so it's like a gigantic sticker that you cut, peel, and attach. The end result is equally as wonderful as using traditional glitter, but with a whole different method of application. The nicest aspect about using glitter paper is that the children can practise their scissor skills while having fun with the glitter.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page